



651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

**DATE:** April 25, 2018

**To:** Board Chair and Clerk, Each Independent Special District **From:** Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer, Contra Costa LAFCO

SUBJECT: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS TO APPOINT AN INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT

REPRESENTATIVE TO THE COUNTYWIDE REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY

**OVERSIGHT BOARD** 

Dear District Chair:

### **BACKGROUND**

In 2011, the State of California dissolved redevelopment agencies throughout the state and created redevelopment agency (RDA) oversight boards as successor agencies. As part of this legislation, on July 1, 2018, the more than 400 RDA oversight boards in California will be consolidated into one oversight board per county (with the exception of Los Angeles which will have five). In Contra Costa County, there are 17 RDA oversight boards which will be consolidated into one board per Health & Safety Code §34179(j).

When this occurs, each county's Independent Special District Selection Committee ("ISDSC") will be granted authority to appoint *one special district representative* to the county's RDA oversight board. If this committee fails to appoint the special district representative by July 15, 2018, the Governor will make the appointment on its behalf. The Governor may also appoint individuals for any member position that remains vacant for more than 60 days. Therefore, it is important that the independent special districts in Contra Costa County take proactive steps to ensure a successful local appointment process.

## **ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS**

There are 44 independent special districts in Contra Costa County (excluding multi-county districts) that are eligible to participate in the election. A board member from any of the 44 independent special districts is eligible to be appointed to the RDA oversight board. Of the 44 independent special districts, the following have territory in the jurisdiction of a former RDA:

Alamo Lafayette Cemetery District	Los Medanos Community Healthcare District
Ambrose Recreation & Park District	Pleasant Hill Recreation & Park District
Byron Brentwood Knightsen Union Cemetery District	Rodeo Hercules Fire Protection District
Central Contra Costa Sanitary District	Rodeo Hercules Sanitary District
Contra Costa Mosquito & Vector Control District	San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District
Contra Costa Resource Conservation District	Stege Sanitary District
Contra Costa Water District	West Contra Costa Healthcare District
East Contra Costa Irrigation District	West County Wastewater District
Ironhouse Sanitary District	

Members representing a majority (23) of the 44 independent special districts shall constitute a quorum for the conduct of the election. No action may be taken by the committee if there is no quorum.

Your district's representative on the ISDSC is the presiding officer of the legislative body of the district (i.e., board chairperson) or an alternate board member, as appointed by your board. \*See attached list used in the recent election for the LAFCO special district seats. Please provide updated information as needed. *We encourage all independent special districts to vote!* 

### SELECTION OF SPECIAL DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE TO COUNTY RDA OVERSIGHT BOARD

Pursuant to Government Code §56332 *et seq.*, the LAFCO Executive Officer is giving written notice and calling for nominations for an independent special district member to the countywide RDA oversight board. As with the recent appointment of the special district seats to LAFCO, and as provided for in LAFCO law, this election will be conducted by mail/email.

Enclosed is a nomination form to be completed by your special district's presiding officer, or his or her alternate as designated by your board. Please return this nomination form to Contra Costa LAFCO by email or mail prior to the end of the nominating period, **May 30, 2018**. Feel free to attach a brief resume and/or candidate statement (one page) of the nominee, if you choose.

At the end of the nominating period, if only one candidate is nominated, that candidate shall be deemed appointed by the committee. If two or more candidates are nominated, the LAFCO Executive Officer will prepare and deliver ballots and voting instructions to the districts. The nominee with the second most votes among all ballots received will be appointed "alternate."

# **SCHEDULE**

The election schedule is as follows:

April 25, 2018	Start of Nomination Period
May 30, 2018	End of Nomination Period
May 31, 2018	Start of Voting Period
June 30, 2018	End of Voting Period
July 2, 2018	Ballots Counted
July 2, 2018	Results Announced

Contra Costa LAFCO encourages your district to participate in the election process. If you have any questions, please contact Contra Costa LAFCO by phone at 925-335-1094 or email LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us.

Sincerely,

Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer Contra Costa LAFCO

### Attachments:

- Nomination Form
- List of Independent Special Districts
- Each Commissioner, Contra Costa LAFCO
  Robert R. Campbell, Contra Costa County Auditor-Controller
  Maureen Toms, AICP, Contra Costa County Department of Conservation and Development